MEDIA AND SOCIETY STOP TRYING TO CORRUPT OUR YOUNG PEOPLE.

I have had it with media and society thinking it is their right to put ideas and thoughts in our children heads that shouldn’t be there. It is bad enough that I have to worry about what my kids are watching on the DISNEY channel because I don’t want them hearing language or seeing kids making out or other things that 12 yr olds much less my 6 yr old and 4 yr old should know NOTHING about. Or have you been in the girls cloths section lately. Try finding a pair of jeans that aren’t hiphuggers, or a shirt that covers your daughters mid section. Maybe just take a walk to the little girls bra and panties section. YUP. Push up demi’s are now the normal training bra, and bikini and thongs have taken over the pantie selection.

Then there is the whole Miley Cyrus thing during the teen KIDS choice awards POLE FREAKING DANCING. Then I just read her 9 year old sister was also doing it. ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME. How about the doll I just read about that is POLE DANCING. I THINK NOT. This makes me completely ill.

What happened to modesty. I am not saying we have to put our children in “Little House on the Prairie” cloths but modesty really says a lot. Kids need to be kids. They need to be playing with doll babies and dreaming of puppies and kittens. Not worrying about getting a kiss, or asking “Mommy why is that lady on the pole like that”
I posted a little thing about all of this on Facebook this morning. This is what I wrote.

What is wrong with people. I just read about a pole dancing toy. Really is this needed. When did something that happens in strip clubs become something that children should play with or do on shows for kids. Society need to take a step back and stop …trying to corrupt our young people and bring back modesty and morals.

This is a reply that I got.
That has GOT to be fake. Seriously. Though I watched the 2 videos that they posted and I didn’t see any pole dancing. Mylie’s pole was to steady herself and the little girls were swinging around a pole, like what we used to do when we were kids. Was the pole necessary? Well, maybe not. But I wouldn’t think anything was wrong with them just swinging around it.

my reply..
I totally disagree. I believe that it is placed for a reason. While maybe yes she might have used it to steady her it give the impression of an older “adult” activity. It didn’t need to be there. She is just an example of my point of society needs to stop with making kids think that “adult” activities are for them. Sex isn’t for children. I am a bring modesty back kinda mom.

her reply.
If a child doesn’t even know what pole dancing is, then it’s kinda moot point, don’t you think? I agree with you on bringing modesty back and I tell you what, if I ever have kids, they’re NOT watching the Disney channel or anything else that Miley is on. Definitely not a wholesome girl.

NO NO NO. Is what I am wanting to scream at her. I mean come on. Kids mimic what they see. I am sure that there are tons of kids after they saw Miley doing her little dance trying it at home. I am sure the school yards are filled with little girls doing it. I don’t want my little girl doing or my little boy seeing it. It makes me want to vomit.

I am sorry if the replier is reading this but this is crazy. All to often we forget that they are kids and allow adult activities to be socially acceptable. IT isn’t. Our job as parents is to shelter our kids. Not shove them into adulthood way before they are ready.

Sorry for the soap box today. But enough is enough. It is time that we as parents stand up and say “I WILL NOT ACCEPT THIS”

Anytime I encounter experience in life that bring me to my knees in fear for my kids and others kids. This song pops in my head. It is really the oddest thing how it happens but it does.

The Basics Of Life

Weve turned the page, for a new day has dawned
Weve re-arranged what is right and whats wrong
Somehow weve drifted so far from the truth
That we cant get back home
Where are the virtues that once gave us light
Where are the morals that governed our lives
Someday we all will awake and look back
just to find what weve lost

We need to get back
To the basics of life
A heart that is pure
And a love that is blind
A faith that is fervently
grounded in Christ
The hope that endures for all times
These are the basics,
we need to get back
To the basics of life

The newest rage is to reason it out
Just meditate and you can overcome every doubt
After all man is a God, they say
God is no longer alive

But I still believe in the old rugged cross
And I still believe there is hope for the lost
And I know the rock of all ages will stand
Through changes of time

We need to get back
To the basics of life
A heart that is pure
And a love that is blind
A faith that is fervently
grounded in Christ
The hope that endures for all times
These are the basics,
we need to get back
To the basics of life

BRIDGE
Weve let the darkness invade us too long
Weve got to turn the tide
Oh and we need the passion that burned long ago
To come and open our eyes
Theres no room for compromise

We need to get back
To the basics of life
A heart that is pure
And a love that is blind

We need to get back
To the basics of life
A heart that is pure
The hope that endures for all times
These are the basics,
we need to get back
To the basics of life

What are your thoughts. I would love to hear them. They don’t have to agree with what I have to say. But this is my stand, and I am standing firm on this one.

One response to “MEDIA AND SOCIETY STOP TRYING TO CORRUPT OUR YOUNG PEOPLE.

  1. I agree, but then I have the button from the top of this post on my blog site. When we went shopping for clothes for Audrey she tried on a shirt that skimmed the top of her pants. I told her "no" she couldn't have it because I wasn't raising another Brittany Spears…another mom looked at me and said, I completely agree. I was shocked. I usually get sideways glances or rolled eyes if I've said that before, but this Mom agreed. Personally, and this is just MY daughters..they can't wear anything that shows their belly, short shorts or if their skirt is a little short (and we all know how long Audrey's legs are and her long torso…ugh) they MUST wear shorts underneath…this is also a reason why I'm thankful for the school we decided on. The shorts under skirt thing is MANDATORY and well, it's a Catholic school, so they don't allow things public schools do.My kids DO watch Disney, but with only basic cable they are allowed to watch until 10AM and then, no TV's and it's imagination time. That's something I've always stuck too, well, unless there is company over. The TV in the playroom is also limited to Disney, Nick and PBS…I deleted all the other channels. I have this delimma all the time. I'm glad that we both have little girls who are into little girl things and being well, girls. I'm also thankful that both Ev and Ren aren't exposed to things they shouldn't be and therefore a little men in training….well, that and their love of computers and trains…haha.Then, those are only my thoughts….I wish I could limit my kids more, but then at the same time I also feel that with proper attention to morals and values they will make good choices. I ask Audrey about this earlier and she said "who's Miley Cyrus?" I said, it's Hannah Montana and she was like…who? I think I've done an okay job if she doesn't even know who they are…yay!!

Leave a comment