Where is the common sense?

Have you noticed lately that stupidity seams to be around every corner? I mean everywhere you look there is somebody doing something stupid. What happened to good ol common sense?

Recently there was a HUGE toy recall that came out. So I went to the website to make sure that none of our toys were on there. (There is a few items that are on there) While I was looking at the different items making sure that it wasn’t ours I came across a pack and play. On this warning it said Never place a child in a Pack ‘n Play with a detachable changing table when the changing table is still in place. To receive a free warning label to put on your changing table, or for more information, contact Graco. This is talking about the bassinet that is in the pack and plays that you put your kids in. Now in my land we call that common sense. Don’t put your child in the pack and play while the changing table is on. But I guess it isn’t because some  people still need to order a label that tells them to do this.

So this got me thinking. Many years ago I don’t remember where or why but I saw a speaker and he was talking about warning labels. He was telling us that for every stupid warning label out there, there is a stupid person has done that and that is the reason that the warning label is on there in the first place. So after  a little research I found some classic warning labels for your personal entertainment. All of my responses are in PINK


On a hair dryer: Do not use in shower. Never use while sleeping.

how are you sleeping and using this?

On Tampax Tampons: Remove used tampon before inserting new one.

Thanks for clearing that one up.

On the package of an Ace Garden Hose: Do not spray water into an electrical outlet. Severe electrical shock could result.

That could be a shocking experience.

On a disposable razor: Do not use this product during an earthquake.

Very interesting.

On a Medela Pump in Style breast pump: “Close supervision is necessary when this product is used by, on, or near children or invalids.”

Somebody please explain to me why this is being used on children or invalids?

On a frisbee: May contain small parts.

I would like to see this one happen.
On a portable stroller: Remove infant before folding for storage.

Maybe I want my child to be hanging up on the wall with the stroller. JK

On a child sized Superman costume: Wearing of this garment does not enable you to fly.

No comment on this one.

On an infant’s bathtub: Do not throw baby out with bath water.

freakin A that is what I have been doing wrong this whole time.

On a cardboard baler: Do not climb in to sit or sleep.

And to think that I was going to replace my sofa with this.

On a Petco brand dog muzzle: Not suitable for children.

I guess it was used by the same people that put their kids on a leash.

Armor-All wipes: Not to be used for personal cleansing!

Maybe a good buffing was in need.

On a curling iron: For external use only!

What exactly are they curling?

On an electric rotary tool.This product not intended for use as a dental drill.

Wow really somebody did this one?

On a toner cartridge for a laser printer. Do not eat toner.

Maybe it is a new diet.

On a toilet bowl cleaning brush. Do not use orally.

Maybe they were out of tooth paste.

On a laser pointer. Do not look into laser with remaining eye.

Notice it said on REMAINING EYE.

In the manual for a microwave oven. Do not use for drying pets.

There are strange people out there.

I guess with the law suit people out there a company can’t be to safe. You know after McDonalds got sued for hot coffee and making people fat. But I say enough is enough. Lets try to use a little common sense before we are really that stupid.

Sorry this is not normally something that I would write but I found it quite interesting. I am sure in the 1920’s there wasn’t warning labels on things like don’t snort the flour may clog your nose or make you sneeze.

4 responses to “Where is the common sense?

  1. Andrea, this is hilarious – you are right on girl.

  2. Warning labels defy logic. I always laugh at the ones that basically say: This is not a food.

  3. Awesome laughs.

    Common sense isn’t so common is it?

    Too funny!

  4. It’s amazing to read those warning labels and realize someone actually had to DO THAT in order for it to be something that the company had to for-warn people about. I think my favorite was the stroller “remove child before folding up”-HAHA hilarious!

Leave a Reply

