Mommy Confessions~Tv as a babysitter

I am firmly against parents using TV as a babysitter. I believe that to often parents pop their kids in front of the TV just to have  a few minuets of time to do what they want to. (I am also that parent that doesn’t watch ANY type of TV other than kids shows during awake hours.)

For the first year of Evan’s life we very rarely had the TV on.  I was a firm believer in I didn’t like what the “kids” shows were teaching the kids so I just left the TV off all of the time. Every great once in awhile I would put on a Sesame Street DVD. He would love it.

Fast forward 7 years. So now I have 4 kids. My rules have changed alot. We were a very rarely TV house now it seams like the TV is on all of the time. We went from NO Sponge Bob in the house to it seams like I know all of the episodes word for word. ( I never had anything against it I just found it really annoying) Some things still remain the same like I watch everything before the kids do just to make sure it is appropriate.  I still don’t watch anything that isn’t for the kids while they are awake. I don’t watch TV at all during the day.

But this morning I realized that I am doing something I swore I wouldn’t do.

I confess~ I use the TV as a sitter.

You see every morning around 9am Declan needs to go down for his first nap. So I go into the kitchen make his bottle. Go and turn on Play with me Sesame and sit Paisley down and I head upstairs with Declan to feed him and put him down for his nap. So while I was upstairs today it hit me. I am one of those parents that I don’t agree with. I use TV as a sitter. Now I don’t do it for an hour I don’t do it all the time, but I do use it. I use it EVERY day to put Declan down for his 9am nap. I use it for about 10 minuets. Now I can still hear everything that is going on in the living room. She is gated off from the rest of the house so that she can’t get hurt. But just the same I put her down in front of the TV so that I can get done what I need to get done. Am I happy with myself for this NO. But that leads me to another confessions.

I confess~ That it isn’t going to change. I have to put Declan down at 9am everyday. I can’t take her upstairs and risk her getting into something that could hurt her. But I can promise that I will not use the TV more than that 10 minuets everyday as a sitter.

Do you use the TV as a sitter. Maybe you need to go to the bathroom, maybe you want a shower or cook dinner, maybe you just need a 5 minuet break. Maybe it is to walk to the end of the drive to get your mail or get your other child off of the bus. When do you use the TV as a sitter. Have you ever? Are you willing not to stop doing it?

One response to “Mommy Confessions~Tv as a babysitter

  1. I’m TOTALLY with you because I wasn’t going to be “that mom”. Evan didn’t watch hardly any t.v. until Carter came along. And now, the t.v. is on a whole lot more than I like for it to be!! But I still monitor what they watch and most of the time it is educational. But I do love me some SpongeBob so occasionally we will all sit and laugh together! You know, I think it is sorta a necessary evil to some extent. It has helped get me through those “tough”times of needing a break and/or getting some work done. Am I proud of it? No. But there has to be compromises sometimes!

Leave a Reply

