Mommy Opinion ~~ The Trader Joe’s Companion

Photo from Amazon.com

Not that long ago, I received a copy of a little book (and by little I mean size, not content).  It’s called The Trader Joe’s Companion, A Portable Cookbook by Deana Gunn and Wona Miniati. 

Now, I’m going to be very honest here.  I don’t live particularly close to a Trader Joe’s store location.  There are 2 in the general vicinity of where I live, but both are around 45 minute to 1 hour drives.  I read over the book though and thought “hey, I may be able to adapt it to my local grocery”.  To my happy surprise, it was very adaptable.

I’m a cookbook junkie, so I will pour over all the pages looking for a new recipe to try.  At one point, I would try anything.  Things change after you have kids though.  Now, most of my recipes are on the kid food friendly side.  This book is FULL OF THOSE!!  There are several that come to mind that we’ve tried.  The kids adored the Lemon Tilapia!  Hubs thought the recipe for Shrimp Scampi was super easy and tasted great (he makes most of the fish meals in our house).  My personal favorite was the Southwest Burrito.  Oh.  My.  Goodness.  It was so easy to make and tasted wonderfully! 

If you’re looking for a cookbook that’s portable, this is it!  It fits in a purse and is choke full of easy, tasty recipes.  The best part, while it may be oriented for a Trader Joe’s, it can be very easily adapted to your local grocer!  I am looking forward to trying out some of the dessert recipes!

**Dear FTC, I received a copy of The Trader Joe’s Companion A Portable Cookbook for this review.  The opinion and word contained within this post are my own**

Leave a Reply

