Breast Cancer Awareness.

October marks the month of Breast Cancer Awareness. This year marks it’s 25th anniversary. Breast cancer has the potential to affect our mothers, grandmothers, daughters, aunts, cousins, friends, the lady walking down the road and ourselves.
Breast Cancer runs very strongly in my family. I have had many aunts and cousins diagnosed with it. Some have survived it some haven’t been so lucky. My mother and I have both had a scare with it. A few years back my Dr found a lump and sent me in. They didn’t know what it was so they biopsied it and it wasn’t cancer. (Thank God) but now I have to go in yearly to get checked. All to often women for some reason are to scared and embarrassed to go get check out. Kandi and I both have a friend whose mother has had it twice and still hasn’t been checked herself. This is insane to me.
Did you know that According to the American Cancer Society (ACS), an estimated 192,370 new cases of invasive breast cancer are expected to be diagnosed among women in the United States last year. Approximately 1,910 new cases are expe stop and cted in men. The ACS also reports that an estimated 40,610 breast cancer deaths are expected in 2009 (40,170 women, 440 men). Yes it doesn’t just affect women men can get it to.
Here is a list of Q&A from the Breast Cancer Awareness read it. It could make a difference.
This past season So You Think You Can Dance took on a challenge they had a Breast Cancer Tribute. It was the most incredible thing. I cry every time I see it. I hope you enjoy and I hope it makes you think.

Leave a Reply

