getting into organization


A while ago I decided I was going to get organized. I had, had it with a life of fly by my seat and only do what had to be done. At that point I decided to come up with a chore chart for myself and my kids. The kids was a super easy thing to come up with. I went to handipoints. It was super easy to set up their charts. It seams to work for us. I have been using it for some time now. I made my own chart for myself but I only stuck with it for awhile and then I started slacking off and going back to my own way of cleaning. The problem is when I have a set chart to go by I spend way less time cleaning and my house is always clean. So why don’t I stick with it.
Today I have decided starting Monday I am going back to my old ways of a chore chart but I am putting in a few new updates. Like each person gets a laundry day. (I get so overwhelmed with laundry) Each day a bedroom is cleaned I only wash their bedding instead of doing it all in 1 day. I am hoping this works. I think the 1st week will be the worst and after that it will be smooth sailing.
I broke it down in days. I am going to print each day on a page and put it in a binder and just follow it everyday. NO EXCUSES. I need to be held accountable for this.
So here is my chore chart. Enjoy…My house isn’t small by any means. We have a total of 5 bedrooms, 2 offices, 2 1/2 baths, a playroom,a full basement, a huge living room and kitchen, along with a laundry room that is never clean.

Sunday:

Cut and organize coupons
Go thru ads
Throw away old ads
Make menu for week
Make grocery list
Grocery shop
Clean out fridge
Collect all trash in the house

Laundry:
Tommy’s day
Wash, fold, put away

*Every day chores:

Kitchen:
Dishes fill and empty
Wipe down counters
Wipe down table
Clean off counters
Sweep kitchen

Living room:
Pick up
Vacuum

All rooms:
Make beds
Pick up

Bath rooms:
Pick up
Quick wipe down

Monday:

KITCHEN:
Dishes
Wipe down counters
Wipe down inside and outside of appliances
Clean and organize pantry and shelves
Old English table and chairs
Dust hutch
Clean dog food area
Wipe down windows and doors
Clean baseboards
Wipe down cupboards
Dust frames and top of cupboards
Clean cobwebs
Sweep and mop

Laundry
Towels and table clothes

*Every day chores:

Kitchen:
Dishes fill and empty
Wipe down counters
Wipe down table
Clean off counters
Sweep kitchen

Living room:
Pick up
Vacuum

All rooms:
Make beds
Pick up

Bath rooms:
Pick up
Quick wipe down

Tuesday:
Living Room:

Pick up room
Dust everything including pictures on the wall
Old English piano
Move TV center and clean behind and under
Clean out couches and vacuum it
Wipe down TV screen
Clean baseboards
Wipe down windows
Sweep up cobwebs
Sweep and mop

Scarlett’s room:

Pick up room
Wash bed linens. Put back on
Dust room including frames
Clean out closets if needed
Wipe down windows
Clean baseboards
Clean under bed
Sweep up cobwebs
Vacuum floor

Laundry:
Scarlett
Wash, fold put away

*Every day chores:

Kitchen:
Dishes fill and empty
Wipe down counters
Wipe down table
Clean off counters
Sweep kitchen

Living room:
Pick up
Vacuum

All rooms:
Make beds
Pick up

Bath rooms:
Pick up
Quick wipe down

Wednesday:

Master bedroom
Wash bed linens put back on
Pick up floor
Dust frames
Dust room
Clean desk area
Clean up night stands and dressers
Clean closets if needed
Wipe down tv and computer
Clean baseboards
Sweep up cobwebs
Vacuum floor
Wipe down windows

Master bathroom

Fill tub and bleach
Clean sink
Clean shower
Scrub toilet
Wash rugs
Clean mirror
Clean baseboards
Wipe down windows
Dust frames
Organize shelves
Sweep cobwebs
Sweep and mop

Paisley’s room

Pick up
Change bedding
Dust
Clean baseboards
Dust frames
Wipe down windows
Sweep cobwebs
Vacuum

Laundry:
Paisley

*Every day chores:

Kitchen:
Dishes fill and empty
Wipe down counters
Wipe down table
Clean off counters
Sweep kitchen

Living room:
Pick up
Vacuum

All rooms:
Make beds
Pick up

Bath rooms:
Pick up
Quick wipe down
Thursday:

Evan’s room
Wash linens and replace
Pick up room
Clean desk
Clean under bed
Dust room and frames
Wipe down tv
Wipe down windows
Clean base boards
Sweep cobwebs
Vacuum
Upstairs bathroom

Clean mirror
Clean sink
Scrub toilet
Clean shower
Wipe down windows
Clean baseboards
Sweep cobwebs
Sweep and mop

Upstairs hall

Clean hall
Dust table and pictures
Clean baseboards
Vacuum

Laundry:
Evan
*Every day chores:

Kitchen:
Dishes fill and empty
Wipe down counters
Wipe down table
Clean off counters
Sweep kitchen

Living room:
Pick up
Vacuum

All rooms:
Make beds
Pick up

Bath rooms:
Pick up
Quick wipe down
Friday:

Small bathroom

Clean mirror
Clean sink
Scrub toilet
Clean baseboards
Clean shelves out
Dust pictures
Sweep cobwebs
Sweep and mop

Hall:

Clean and vacuum stairs
Organize closets
Wipe down front doors
Dust frames
Wipe down bench
Wash dog bedding
Clean baseboards
Sweep cobwebs
Sweep and mop

Playroom:

Clean tv screen
Dust
Pick up
Organize toys
Sweep stairs
Sweep cobwebs
Vacuum

Man room:

Dust
Wipe down tv
Sweep cob webs
Vacuum
Spray down

Guest room

Organize closet
Dust
Wipe down windows
Clean baseboards
Sweep cobwebs
Vacuum

Laundry:
Andrea
*Every day chores:

Kitchen:
Dishes fill and empty
Wipe down counters
Wipe down table
Clean off counters
Sweep kitchen

Living room:
Pick up
Vacuum

All rooms:
Make beds
Pick up

Bath rooms:
Pick up
Quick wipe down

Saturday

My office
Clean and organize
Dust
Wipe down window
Sweep up cobwebs
Vacuum

Laundry room:
Wipe down washer and dryer
Clean off counter
Put all shoes away
Clean out hampers
Sweep and mop

Wipe down Paisley’s toys

*Every day chores:

Kitchen:
Dishes fill and empty
Wipe down counters
Wipe down table
Clean off counters
Sweep kitchen

Living room:
Pick up
Vacuum

All rooms:
Make beds
Pick up

Bath rooms:
Pick up
Quick wipe down

One response to “getting into organization

  1. I can't wait to read your Facebook next week..haha. I'm glad it's working for you! I'll have to check out the website to see what I can come up with for my kiddos. They need something!!

Leave a Reply

