"Mommy, that’s dumb, stop it"

Posted by Kandi

Yesterday I had the bright idea to introduce the baby to The Wiggles. Peanut (the oldest) adored the Wiggles when she was about the baby’s age. I thought I’d pull out some old DVD’s and see how she liked them. It took her a minute, but she was soon shaking her diapered tush with the music. Now, having had a little one who’s world revolved around “wiggling” for a while, I’m well versed in the songs, dances, and characters. I was enjoying reliving those memories and showing the baby how to “Do the Monkey” and “Rock-A-Bye her Bear” when Peanut came up from the playroom. She was humiliated! She said, “Mommy, you look silly stop it”. I just looked at her like “are you my kid? The same one who knew every move before she was 2?” I ask her if she wanted to help teach the baby some moves and she rolled her eyes (how does a 4 year old know how to do that!?!?!?!). So, needless to say, Peanut is officially over the Wiggles. I was so sad when I thought about it. They were so important to her at one time, we even went to their concert!! I know all kids go through phases, but sometimes it’s hard for me to just let go….At least I have the baby to re-live the glory days of the Wiggles.

Leave a Reply

