Menu Plan Monday–week of July 6

We did really well on our menu last week. Right up until Thursday when some sort of 24 hour bug hit the kids. The baby had it Thursday, middle Friday and oldest on Saturday. The older two couldn’t even look at food without being sick, so hubby and I ate out quite a lot those days (we also missed our date night, first one in about 2 years or so…boo!!). With the illness now out of our house, thanks to washing everything and spraying everything else with Lysol, I can get back to eating “good stuff”.

I have been losing weight, or trying to anyhow. So far I had lost 7 pounds in 2 1/2 weeks…woohoo!! Sadly, with all the bad eating this weekend, when I weighed myself this morning I hadn’t lost any more. I haven’t gained any either though!! Since I switched our family from eating a lot of the old stuff to a lot of whole grains, veggies and fruits I can REALLY tell a difference in the way I behave and feel after, oh, let’s say Burger King. I felt so terrible! I didn’t have a lot of energy and felt generally sluggish. Today though, I’ve jumped back onto my eating better bandwagon and feel a ton better!

So, getting down to business here is what I plan for this week.

Breakfasts
Cereal (the usually choose Life or Quaker Oatmeal Squares.)
oatmeal
scrambled eggs and whole wheat toast (no butter, we use honey)
granola bar and banana (this is what the youngest always asks for!)
Yogurt and fruit with toast
pancakes with fresh fruit (I have a lot of blueberries right now)

Lunches
Home made chicken nuggets
fish sticks
tuna with whole wheat Ritz crackers
turkey sandwich with cheese on whole wheat bread
Mommy-made lunchable (consists of English muffin toasted, spaghetti sauce and shredded cheese, pepperoni optional OR cut up turkey with slices of mozzarella cheese and whole wheat Ritz crackers). A lot cheaper than buying them at the store and they don’t take long to make!

Dinner
We are spending more and more time outside, so convenience, yet home made, is big right now.

1. Grilled burgers with all the fixings, corn on the cob and watermelon

2. Crock pot Italian whole chicken with brown rice, broccoli and cantaloupe

3. Shrimp kabobs with dill, squash and zucchini pieces, grilled pineapple (good stuff!!)

4. Sloppy Toms (turkey instead of beef), carrots and fruit

5. Leftover chicken served with noodles and fat free gravy mix (I cannot make gravy and trust me I’ve tried! I know it’s easy, but so is mac-n-cheese and I can’t do that either…go figure)

6. Leftovers

I am also leaving one night *free* since we are either grilling with friends a lot or having company come over to our house.

Have a wonderful week everyone!!

Leave a Reply

